Voters in Trigg

Voters line up at the Emergency Operations Center on Nov. 8 to cast their ballots in the 2022 general election in Trigg County. More than double the number of people went to the polls than voted in the primary.

Incumbent Trigg County Sheriff Aaron Acree captured 33 more votes than all his opponents combined in the Nov. 8 general election, catapulting him into his first term as an elected official in the Trigg County sheriff’s office.

Acree, initially appointed sheriff two years ago by Trigg County Judge-Executive Hollis Alexander, received 2,498 votes in an election that included walk-in and mail-in absentee voting, early voting and voting on Election Day at Trigg County’s seven voting centers.

His nearest opponent, former sheriff’s department Major Mike Sandbrink, garnered 1,394 votes in the race for sheriff.

Additionally, remaining sheriff’s candidates Mike Manzanares, David Tomlinson and Ronnie Mazac each received several hundred votes.

Trigg County Clerk Carmen Finley said last week’s election drew more than twice the voters of the 2022 primary, with 5,557 or 46% of Trigg’s 12,000 registered voters casting ballots.

“Our turnout was a lot better than we had anticipated,” said Finley, who was herself elected to another term as county clerk.

She noted that voting was non-stop all day, and she described Election Day as “very encouraging, as far as we were concerned.”

The 46% turnout was more than double the 20% turnout for the primary in May, Finley said.

The election also saw Cadiz City Council members Brian Futrell, Susie Hendricks, Susan Bryant, Brenda Price and Bob Noel given another term on the council, with new council member Tim Bridges joining the group.

Councilman Frankie Phillips did not get enough votes to serve another term on the council.

Incumbent Cadiz Mayor Todd King, who had no opposition on the ballot, received 621 votes.

In the race for Trigg County Fiscal Court, Mike Wright and Cameron Sumner return for another term as court magistrates and will be joined by newcomer Pat Bush in the District 6 seat.

Lone candidate Stan Humphries received 4,636 votes in his bid for judge-executive, replacing outgoing judge Hollis Alexander.

In the race for Trigg County circuit clerk, Lisa Fuller Thomas ousted incumbent Stephen Washer, who was appointed clerk last August upon the retirement of former clerk Pam Perry.

Thomas, who received 3,644 votes to Washer’s 1,826 in the general election, is filling Perry’s unexpired term, which ends in 2024.

Other races saw Trigg County residents vote in favor of Matt Schalk over opponent Jennifer Nelson in the 2nd Division race for judge of the 56th judicial district, and they voted for another term for incumbent U.S. Sen. Rand Paul.

Trigg voters also helped return James Comer to the U.S. House of Representatives to represent the First District, and they voted in favor of Walker Thomas to fill the 8th District seat in the Kentucky House of Representatives.

Thomas defeated opponent Pam Dossett and will return to the state House for another term, while Comer returns to the U.S. House of Representatives and Paul, to the Senate.

Schalk is the new judge for the 56th Judicial District that serves Caldwell, Livingston, Lyon and Trigg counties in the state of Kentucky.

Other candidates who won their races in Trigg County with no opposition include Mary Beth Imes, in the 5th District for House of Representatives; Lauren Fowler, property valuation administrator; Randall Braboy, county attorney; James E. Hughes, jailer; John Mark Vinson, coroner; Randle G. Cruse, county surveyor; Barry Littlejohn, Jeff Broadbent, Alana Baker Dunn and Mike Lane, magistrates on the fiscal court; and constables Mark W. Carr, Ray Wyatt, John Oliphant, Kerry Fowler, John O. DeBlois and Dennis Whitten.

Remaining candidates named to office with no opposition were Christopher Shea Nickell, an associate justice on the Kentucky Supreme Court; Chris McNeill, a judge for Division 1 of the Kentucky Court of Appeals 1st Appellate District; Donna L. Dixon, a judge for Division 2 of the Kentucky Court of Appeals 1st Appellate District; James R. Redd III, judge for Division 1 of the 56th Judicial Circuit; Natalie White, judge for Division 2 of the 56th Judicial Circuit; Brandon Knoth, judge for Division 1 of the 56th Judicial District; and Trigg County School Board members Charlene Sheehan and Clara Beth Hyde.

Reach Tonya S. Grace at 270-887-3240 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.