The prestigious Heritage Bank Christian County High School Athletics Hall of Fame will added more than a dozen new members after the announcement was made in a press conference Thursday at CCHS.

Thirteen individuals and a team will join the illustrious group with those being inducted at a banquet Dec. 15 at the CCHS library.

A few of the new members were on hand Thursday at CCHS as representatives from eight different sports will be joining the hall.

Those being inducted are: Anthony Babb (basketball), Steven Bides (basketball), Phillip Brooks (football), Don Dillard (girls’ basketball coach), Rachel Diuguid (golf), William Gee (wrestling), Hayung Kohler (football), Joe Lancaster (baseball), Frankie McWilliams (wrestling), Mitchell Moore (golf), Bryan Morris (baseball), Kiki Radford (basketball and softball) and Arnold Slaughter (wrestling) as well as the 1988 KHSAA State Wrestling Championship team.

The members of the 1988 wrestling team include: Chad Lile, David Donley, Robert Schneider, Barry Lancaster, Tom Lee, Arvil Banks, Corey Wadlington, Alvin Byers, Darren Barker, Keith O’Daniel, Matthew Carlson, Cedric Davis and Brent Sisk. The team was coached by Jim Perrin and its assistant coaches were Kirk Lancaster and Ed Davis.

Radford is still a fixture in the hall of CCHS as she’s a teacher and the head girls’ basketball coach.

“Just playing for the Lady Colonels both on the basketball court and the softball field, it means a lot ...  it meant a lot,” she said of receiving the call.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.