Scholarship recipients

Gamble Funeral Home announced two local $1,000 scholarship recipients as Jaylon Lamar Taggert and Elijah Xavior Gaines. 

Taggert is a 2020 graduate from Hopkinsville High School. He plans on attending school at Murray State University, Murray in the fall and majoring in both Music Education and Psychology. His goal is to become a psychologist and professional musician.

Gaines is a 2020 graduate of Trigg County High School. He will be attending school at Ashbury University in Wilmore, Kentucky in the fall. He plans on majoring in Pre-Nursing. His intended profession is to be a registered nurse.

Ohio University

ATHENS, Ohio -- Jose Rodriguez of Hopkinsville, graduated with a Master's of Music from Ohio University.

More than 5,000 students graduated with bachelor's, master's or doctorate degrees from Ohio University for spring semester 2020.

The graduates represented many areas of the United States and an abundance of countries, including: Canada, Ecuador, China, Ghana, India and Japan.

Troy University

TROY, Alabama -- Troy University is pleased to recognize students who completed the requirements for graduation during the spring semester and Term 4 of the 2019/2020 academic year.

Local students who graduated include:

Brittany Ippolito of Fort Campbell with a Undergraduate degree from the College of Health and Human Services

Katie Sullivan of Hopkinsville with a Undergraduate degree from the College of Arts and Sciences

The spring semester includes graduates from the Troy, Ala., campus. Term 4 graduates include students at TROY's campuses in Dothan, Phenix City and Montgomery, Ala., along with teaching sites outside of Alabama and online.

Bethel University

MCKENZIE, Tennessee - A total of 359 Bethel University students have completed the requirements for graduation for spring 2020.

Cynthia Campbell, of Hopkinsville, graduated from the College of Professional Studies, with a Master of Business Administration.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, commencement for the May graduates will take place in conjunction with the August commencement on Aug. 1.

"Graduation is a special time," stated Bethel University President Walter Butler. "It's a celebration of a culmination of commitment, hard work and learning. I am so proud of these young women and men and excited for the impact that they will have in their careers, communities and families."

Whitworth University 

SPOKANE, Washington - Hannah Duncan of Fort Campbell achieved Provost's Honor Roll status for the Spring 2020 semester at Whitworth University.

To be named to the list, undergraduate students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.75 or better during the semester.

SUNY Canton

CANTON, New York -- SUNY Canton President Zvi Szafran congratulates Vincent VanBrocklin of Fort Campbell, Kentucky, for earning President's List Honors during the spring 2020 semester. VanBrocklin majors in the Homeland Security program.

"The spring semester created a truly unique set of challenges," said SUNY Canton President Zvi Szafran. "Honor students have risen to that challenge and demonstrated true excellence in the new academic landscape. The entire college applauds your success."

President's List recognizes students who achieve a 3.75 or greater GPA.

University of Kentucky 

LEXINGTON – A record number of students made the University of Kentucky Dean's List for the spring 2020 semester. A total of 9,705 students were recognized for their outstanding academic performance.

To make a Dean’s List in one of the UK colleges, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.6 or higher and must have earned 12 credits or more in that semester, excluding credits earned in pass-fail classes. Some UK colleges require a 3.5 GPA to make the Dean’s List.

Christian County:

Kylie Nicole Blaszkowski, sociology; Makenzey Starks, pre-computer science;  Chloe Lassiter Holloway, community and leadership development; Joshua Barry Isenhoff, civil engineering; Matthew Forrest Nason, pre-accounting; Jaleon M. Abrams, elementary education; Emily Catherine Blane, psychology; George E. Boyd IV, Spanish; Hannah Bradshaw, psychology; Cora E. Brown, communications; Claire Margaret Campbell, communications; Destiny N, Coleman, psychology; Kayla A. Diuguid, English/psychology; Riley Grace Fort, pre-marketing;

Anna G. Garnett, clinical leadership and management; Gracie Renea Garrett, STEM education; Layton Brooke Gibson, pre-mechanical engineering; Aniyah Nashee Greenwade, public health; Rileigh Ann Greenwell, pre-medical laboratory sciences; Destiny A. Hatcher, merchandising, apparel and textiles; Madison Elizabeth Hayden, psychology; Caroline E. Heltsley, biology; Reid Wilson Heltsley, finance; Halle Rhea Hendricks, social work; Ronja Hildebrand, communication sciences and disorders; Shelby B. Harbour, economics;

Montreale Lamar Jones, architecture; James Andrew King, finance; Kylon Niree Kite, pre-public health; Raymond McKenzie Major Jr., undeclared; Lauren Elizabeth Major, architecture; Connor Gregory McCormack, electrical engineering; Alexi Paige McGhan, modern and classical language, literature and cultures; Patricia Madison Morris, pre-civil engineering;

Zachary Blake Naylor, history; Lexy Ann Oatts, pre-nursing; Macy Renee Oatts, communication sciences and disorders; Carson Alexis Pemberton, integrated strategic communication; Haley Ashton Powell, English; Mary Glenn Powell, integrated strategic communication; Leah Frances Putty, communication sciences and disorders;

Siraj A. Ramsey, management; Shelby Lynn Reynolds, communication sciences and disorders; Simone Janae Rudolph, psychology; Kyler Peyton Scheben, pre-integrated strategic communications; Jana Paige Shelley, psychology; Loren A. Shelley, psychology; Emily Grace Simon, Kinesiology; Gabrielle Elizabeth Stalker, elementary education; Alivia Francis Stewart, communication;

Isabelle N. Taylor, neuroscience; Alyssa Jean Rivera, psychology; Makayla L. Rivera, pre-social work; Kelsey Ann Mata, sociology; Mary Glenn Orem, Kinesiology.

Todd County:

Haven Elaine Walton, finance; Makayla Nicole Settle, Kinesiology; Sydney T. Harper, STEM education; Dylan Seth Lee, computer science; Aidan James Perell, psychology; Garret Matthew Collins, Kinesiology; Emma Lee-Ann Klees, pre-nursing.

Trigg County:

Isabella S. Erickson, nursing; Anne Marie McAtee, international studies; Elizabeth Kelly Redd, human health sciences.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.